Reviews

Book Review: Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

img_3051Title: Highly Illogical Behavior

Author: John Corey Whaley

Genre: Young Adult

Published: May 10th 2016

Dates Read: 07/19/2016 – 07/23/2016

Source: Library

My Rating:

Goodreads Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

My Thoughts

This is a book about mental illness and even though I don’t have any experience with agoraphobia and panic attacks I feel like John Corey Whaley depicts it in a very respectful way. There was a healthy dose of seriousness with an equal amount of humor thrown in. This is told in alternating perspectives of Solomon and Lisa and I personally don’t like it when books are told in multiple points of view however with that being said I feel like it works for this book. Even though it was told in alternating perspectives it was really easy for me to keep up with the story and usually that is not the case for me. I was over halfway through the book before I really started getting into it. I also just didn’t connect with any of the characters. Lisa just comes off a little stalkerish to me from the beginning but she did get better toward the end and Solomon and Clark are into Star Trek and other stuff that is totally over my head. I wish this book would have been longer I just feel like the way it ended wasn’t sufficient it just needed more.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you enjoy. If you have read this book I would love to know your thoughts on it so please leave me a comment below.

Leave a Reply

