Reviews

Book Review: The Replacement

The Replacement
 I got this picture from Google Images

Title: The Replacement

Author: Jason Pellegrini

My Rating: 4 Stars

Goodreads Synopsis  

After a violent altercation with an infamous New York City drug lord, Patrick Sullivan believed his career in law enforcement was over. Yet, not even a year after his resignation, he finds himself back on the job. This time, a detective in the homicide unit.

While battling the ghosts of his past, Patrick and his new partner, veteran detective Jonathan Hawkins, find themselves chasing a killer who is constantly one step ahead of them.

As the body count increases and no substantial leads are discovered, tension between the two cops threatens to boil over. They attempt to coexist as they hunt down a sadistic serial killer who does more than just take his victims’ lives.

My Thoughts

I want to thank the author for choosing me as one of the giveaway winners for a PDF copy of this book.

Like I said I was lucky enough to win a copy of this book and I am so glad I did. This book had a little bit of a slow start for me but it didn’t take to long to pick up. I really enjoyed this book even though some parts were pretty gruesome and disturbing. The murder scenes and some of the dream sequences were the best parts of the book to me even though they were disturbing. The author did an amazing job at painting a picture in these scenes. I found myself visualizing these scenes and literally cringing. This is an amazing debut novel. I was able to guess who the killer was pretty early on but it wasn’t until about halfway through that my assumption was confirmed. I wish it would have been a little bit harder to figure out who the killer was. Even though I knew who the killer was going to end up being I was still on the edge of my seat. Overall I would recommend you read this if you haven’t yet.

If you have read this I would like to hear what you thought of it in the comments below. If you haven’t read this I would recommend you read it. It really was a great read.

Leave a Reply

