Reviews

eARC Review: Tarquin Jenkins and the Book of Dreams by Peter Ford

img_3180

Title: Tarquin Jenkins and the Book of Dreams

Author: Peter Ford

Genre: Time Travel, Science Fiction

Published: March 1st 2016

Dates Read: 08/27/2016 – 09/08/2016

Source: eARC provided by author via booktasters

My Rating:

Goodreads Synopsis

ALL TARQUIN JENKINS WANTED TO DO
was travel through space and time, solve some of the Universe’s more pressing problems, and lay hands on the Nerydire Book of Dreams
UNFORTUNATELY
nobody told him about the bloodsucking Leche, the leprechauns, the other leprechauns, the killer androids, the extremely rude waitress, Nostradamus, Leonardo da Vinci, the malfunctioning toaster, the Zargothian legal system, the Bloated Shagganat nightclub, the psychopathic Griddleback hordes, and a flame-haired, one-eyed space pirate called Georgia Blade
AFTER HE’D GOT HIS HEAD ROUND ALL THAT
Tarquin’s life became a little complicated.

My Thoughts

I received this book from the author through booktasters on twitter in exchange for an honest review.

When I read the synopsis for this book it sounded like it was going to be a really good book. It ended up just being ok for me. Once I started reading it I had a really hard time getting through it. The first half of this book was really slow going for me. It wasn’t until a little over half way through that it started to pick up. There was so many people, places, and “creatures” that were constantly being introduced that I couldn’t connect with any of it. I will say that I really enjoyed Tarquins character. He was always wanting to do the right thing to help even if he was never really good at it. Pretty much every time he tried to do something to help he always ended up hurt or having to be rescued. Plus he would never stand up for himself which really got on my nerves. It wasn’t until the epilogue that he finally stood up for himself. I wish he would have gotten braver and stronger earlier in the book. There was so many words that I couldn’t pronounce. Normally I can deal with this but in this book it was very difficult to get past. I will say that the author is very good at painting a picture. I was able to picture some of the stuff he was describing while reading. I think it had a lot of potential but this book just wasn’t for me and I don’t think I will be continuing on with this series.

I started this book on the 24th of August and I am just now finishing it. So that should give you an idea on how hard it was for me to get through. It wasn’t the worst book in the world but it also wasn’t the greatest to me. But who knows maybe you will still enjoy it. Has anybody read this book yet? If you have what did you think about it? Also I would love to know the most recent book you have read that just wasn’t that great to you?

2 thoughts on “eARC Review: Tarquin Jenkins and the Book of Dreams by Peter Ford

Leave a Reply

