Reviews

Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

My Rating: 4.5 Stars  

miss-peregrinesGoodreads Synopsis

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Review

First off I want to start by saying I gave this book 4.5 stars because I had high expectations for it because of all the hype it has gotten and for me it didn’t live up to the hype. That being said though I really did enjoy the book. It was a little slow going and noting much really happened throughout the book. That is until the last 3 chapters or so and that is when it picked up for me. What happened in the last few chapters is kind of what I was expecting for the whole book. All the pictures that are included all throughout the book made the reading experience that much more interesting to me. It was a cool aspect to add for readers to be able to see pictures of what was being described in the book. The pictures added a whole new level of creepy to the book. That ending left me wanting more so I will definitely be carrying on with this series.

Have any of you guys read this book yet? Did you end up loving it or were you a little let down by it like me? Does it get better with the rest of the series? I hope you are all having a great week and I will see y’all on Friday with a new post.

2 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

