Monthly Wrap Up

#BannedBookathon Wrap Up

the-color-purple-alice-walker

The #BannedBookathon started September 26th and ended October 1st. I originally picked out three books to read but I only managed to finish one during this time. The three books I was hoping to read during the week of the #BannedBookathon were…

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Like I said though I only finished one book in its entirety and I read the first 52 pages of one of the others. I read The Color Purple and ended up giving it 5 Stars. I really love how Alice Walker just went for it an didn’t hold anything back. I had never heard of this book before so I didn’t really know what to expect when I was reading it. While reading this book I found myself going through the same emotions as the main character Celie. As hard as life was for her I was surprised that she could still have so much love and forgiveness in her heart. I picked this book up from my local library and now that I have read it I really want to get a copy to add to my own personal bookshelves.

I started I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings but only managed to read the first 52 pages before I ran out of time. I still plan on finishing the books that I had picked out and since the #BannedBookathon has ended I have actually managed to read to page 133. I am not quite halfway through this book yet so I don’t want to say what I am thinking about it.

Did any of you participate in the #BannedBookathon? If so what did you end up reading? Mondays are always the worst but Most likely yall will be getting an extra post from me this week. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

