Reviews

Review: Set Free

Title: Set Free

Author: Anthony Bidulka

My Rating: 5 Stars

                   set-freeGoodreads Synopsis

The truth will set you free. Can lies do the same?

Within minutes of arriving in the exotic, enigmatic, sweltering city of Marrakech, renowned author Jaspar Wills is kidnapped, blindfolded, bound, and beaten. As Wills struggles to survive the ordeal, he recounts his rise to fame and the tragic events that led him to Morocco. With the kidnapper’s demands left unmet, Wills faces death with fear, grief…and guilt. Is what happened in the past tied to his abduction? Is someone he loves responsible? Or is this payback for his sins? Living with a loss far greater than his own death, Jaspar yearns to be set free. But do some kinds of freedom come at too high a cost?

Six months later, struggling reporter Katie Edwards travels to Morocco to stake her claim on the story with everything—international intrigue, mystery, celebrity, violence, sex, heartbreak, betrayal. Once there, she discovers a shocking truth. As the young journalist’s career soars, Jaspar Wills’ is destroyed…until an act of revenge leads to a stunning revelation that will change everything.

My Review

I was sent this book by the author through booktasters on twitter in exchange for an honest review.

WOW that was all I could think when I finished this book the other night. Well that and What kind of ending was that? (more about that later)

This is the first book I have read by this author and it makes me want to read every book he has ever written. I picked this book from booktasters to read because the synopsis sounded intriguing to me and it had a pretty high star rating on goodreads and now I see why. It was AMAZING!! It switches back and forth between past and present which I usually have a difficult time keeping up with but the transition between past and present was done so well in this book I followed along with no problem. It was full of twists and turns that I never saw coming and it has plots within plots that keeps the reader guessing until the very end. I kind of expected to be able to figure out what happened and who was behind everything because usually I am pretty good at guessing but that didn’t happen with this book. I never knew what was going to happen next so I have to applaud the author for that.

Now we can talk about that ending. I am not going to say what happens or how he ended it or anything like that because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet. When I finished this the other night I literally looked at my husband and was like what kind of ending was that?(of course he had no idea what I was talking about lol) I initially didn’t like it because it leaves you on a sort of cliffhanger. It wasn’t until I went to bed and literally couldn’t stop thinking about the book that I was like wait maybe my first initial thought of the ending was wrong. So I got up the next morning and re read the last paragraph or two of the ending and realized I was wrong. Yes it leaves you on sort of a cliffhanger but at the same time if you pay close attention you do get closure. If you enjoy suspenseful reads I highly recommend you pick this one up!! Also there is slight mature content in this novel so be aware of that.

Have any of you read this book? If not I highly recommend you add this to your TBR.

Disclaimer: All thoughts and opinions are 100% my own.
Leave a Reply

