Reviews

Review: Breakwater by Errin Stevens

*I was provided with a free copy of this book through a blog tour I participated in from the author Errin Stevens in exchange for an honest review.
Hello bookworms!!

Today I have another review for you so lets just get straight to it.


breakwater

 

 

Title: Breakwater (The Mer Chronicles book #2)

Author: Errin Stevens

Genre: Paranormal Fiction

My Rating: 3 Stars

 

 

Goodreads Synopsis

The sirens of Griffins Bay are in trouble, and the recent slew of royal suicides looks to be the least of their worries.

For one, unless a blood relative of the queen shows up, no one’s around to staff the monarchy. Well, except for a whack-job bureaucrat and he seriously won’t do. Worse is the community unrest threatening siren society, a problem caused by too many humans in the pool, which means Simon and his off-limit girlfriend will have to run and hide if they want to make more of their flirtation…

The solution doesn’t inspire confidence at first, but the Blakes have everything at hand to set their world to rights – namely, a hidden queen, a dead prince, and a facility for human manipulation. Once they find their sea legs, they’ll restore order, distribute smart phones, and drive that conniving bureaucrat to a grisly, satisfying end.

My Review

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced readers copy of this book provided by the author.

I am having a little difficulty trying to figure out what to say about this book. I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I enjoyed the first book.

It pretty much starts off right where Updrift (the first book) left off. There are so many new characters that are introduced or that we got to know a little bit in the first book having their own storylines that I felt like it was a little to overwhelming. Kate and Gabe weren’t as prominent in this book and I found myself really missing that. I got pretty attached to their characters after reading Updrift that I really would have liked to have so much more of them in this book. Even though I didn’t enjoy this one as much I am still really interested to continue on with this series to find out what happens next for these characters especially Maya and Aidan.


If you want to see my review of Updrift you can do so here. Also I plan on doing another update post on the #24in48 read a thon that I participated in this weekend on Tuesday. I am still reading and hopefully I will get through the rest of the book I am currently reading before the night ends. Even if I do read for the rest of the night though I know I want me reaching 24 hours but it was fun to try. Also I just wanted to mention that I created a Facebook page so I would have another platform to interact with everybody if you would like to go over and check that out and hopefully give me a follow you can do that by clicking here.


Have you read this series before? Did you like it? Did you hate it? Did you participate in the 24in48 read a thon this weekend? Did you participate in any other read a thons going on? How has your weekend gone? I would love to hear from you in the comments.

One thought on “Review: Breakwater by Errin Stevens

Leave a Reply

