Reviews

eARC Review: Unrequited Alice by Sarah Louise Smith

img_0693

 

Title: Unrequited Alice

Author: Sarah Louise Smith

Publication Date: March 16, 2017

Genre: New Adult Romanc

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

 

Goodreads Synopsis

UNREQUITED ALICE.
The long anticipated next novel from four-times bestselling British author, Sarah Louise Smith.

“I stared at my suitcase, contemplating the following three facts:
1.After months of planning, it was finally time for Hannah’s hen weekend.
2.In just one more month, she’d be getting married to Ed.
3.I really had to fall out of love with Ed before the wedding.”

A bridesmaid really shouldn’t be in love with the groom…but Alice just can’t help herself. Ed is her perfect man, and she can’t get him out of her head.

Until she meets Toby – who offers to help her move on. But what if he’s just setting her up for an even bigger fall?

** I received an eARC from Crooked Cat publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review **

My Thoughts

After reading the very first paragraph I immediately thought about the book Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin. In both books you have two girls who have been best friends since childhood. One of those friends is now getting married and the other friend is in love with her fiancée and that’s where the similarities end.

There was some repetitiveness that got annoying after a while. I know she is in love with Ed I don’t need to be reminded of it every time I turn the page. Also it’s not an original story and it’s pretty predictable but with that being said I really enjoyed it. I loved the buildup of Alice and Toby’s relationship I just wish we would have gotten to it a lot sooner then we did.

Overall I think this was a fun, quick, romantic read and I look forward to reading more from this author. If you are into chick lit I think this would be a book you would enjoy.


Does this sound like a book you would be interested in reading? Have you read any other books by this author before? Will you be giving it a try once it’s released?

 

2 thoughts on “eARC Review: Unrequited Alice by Sarah Louise Smith

Leave a Reply

