Reviews

Tor.com Thursday: short story review | Excerpts from a film by A.C. Wise

tor-com-thursdays

Hello bookworms!!

I am back today with another Tor.com Thursday short story review. This meme was created by Zuky @ BookBum. For this meme all you have to do is read a short story from Tor.com and post a review about it. If you haven’t already followed Zuky’s blog you should definitely do that and you should also join in on this meme.



This Week Tor.com short story was Excerpts from a film by A.C. Wise

From Tor.com

“Excerpts from a Film (1942-1987)” by A.C. Wise is a disturbing horror novelette about a young woman, who like many others, goes to Hollywood to become a star and is haunted by the murders of several other aspiring actresses. And of her influence, rippling up through the years, on the man who “discovered” her and on film itself.

My Review

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

I was really surprised that I enjoyed this one as much as I did. The writing was very descriptive and it felt so real. Even though this is a short story I was immediately drawn in and captivated by it. It is described as being disturbing but to me it wasn’t disturbing at all, it was actually kind of beautiful. I will say that the back and forth between the years kind of confused me and I am still a little confused about the “death” of a character. Overall I really enjoyed this and I have to say that this one is my new favorite story out of all the ones I have read.



Next Weeks Tor.com Read is going to be Selfies by Lavie Tidhar

3 thoughts on “Tor.com Thursday: short story review | Excerpts from a film by A.C. Wise

Leave a Reply

