Reviews

Review: Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook

img_0943

Title: Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

Author: Alicia Cook

Genre: Poetry

Publication Date: April 11th 2017

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Structured like an old-school mix-tape, Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately is Alicia Cook’s lyric message to anyone who has dealt with addiction. “Side A” touches on all aspects of the human condition: life, death, love, trauma, and growth. “Side B” contains haunting black-out remixes of those poems.

img_0945img_0950

My Thoughts

I just want to thank the publisher Andrews McMeel Publishing and NetGalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for my honest review.

Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately is divided into two parts. Side A is the full length poems and side B is the same poems just remixed to create black out poetry. This is the third poetry book I have read this month. Actually it’s the third poetry book I have ever read. The format of this book was so unique it’s like a cassette plus there are songs that go along with each poem and it really intrigued me. Well that and the black out poetry. Being new to the poetry genre I obviously wasn’t sure what that entailed but I ended up really loving it. Side B, the black out poetry side, was my favorite. There was one particular poem that literally brought me to tears.

I am so glad I was able to read this collection of poems and I look forward to reading more from this author and more black out poetry. The poems I included are just a couple of my favorites from this book.

img_0949img_0952


Have you read this already? Did you enjoy it? What were some of your favorite poems? Have you read any other poetry books that you think I should read? I would love some recommendations. I would love to hear from you in the comments.

7 thoughts on “Review: Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook

  1. This looks absolutely amazing — I love when authors allow different formats to work for them and create something unique with their stories. I’ve been looking into reading more poetry lately, so I’m really glad I found your review! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

