Memes

First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

e9c4c-blogger-image-1901076236

Hello bookworms!!

I’m back again with another Tuesday Intros post. Credit as always goes to Diane @ Bibliophile By The Sea. This week I am showing you the first paragraph of a book I have been dying to read for the longest time. The book I’m featuring in todays post is The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel. I was lucky enough to receive this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review and I couldn’t be more excited. At the time I am writing this post I haven’t started it yet but I’m hoping by the time this post goes live I will have started reading it.

img_1760

First Paragraph

The first time I saw Roanoke was in a dream. I knew little of it beyond its name and the fact it was in Kansas, a place I had never been. My mother only ever mentioned it when she’d had too much wine, her breath turned sweet and her words slow and syrupy like molasses. So my subconscious filled in the rest. In my dream it stood tall and stately, tucked among a forest of spring-green trees. Its red-brick façade was broken up by black shutters, white trim, delicate wrought-iron balconies. A little girl’s fantasy of a princess castle.


This is definitely going to be my next read seeing as I have been dying to read it I want to get to it ASAP. What are you currently reading? Is there a book you have been dying to read? If so, what book?   

Leave a Reply

