Challenges

Mid Year Challenge Update

Mid Year Update

Hello bookworms!!

At the beginning of the year I told y’all about all of the challenges I was planning on participating in this year so I thought I would let y’all know how I have been doing since we are at the halfway point of the year. Each month I add a Challenge Stats at the end of my wrap up posts if you want to know what each months progress is.


img_2014
First up is my Goodreads reading challenge. At the beginning of the year I set my goal at 50 but I upped it because I knew I was going to hit that goal pretty early on. As of right now my goal is at 60 books but I think I might end up raising it again because I have already read 46/60 books. That puts me 16 books ahead of schedule. I am planning on doing a post probably sometime next week of all the books I have read this year so keep an eye out for that.

2017-alphabet-soup-buttonNext up is the Alphabet Reading Challenge. This is the first time I have participated in this challenge and I’m having so much fun with it. So far I have read 17/26 books that count for this challenge. If you are interested in knowing what books I have read for what letter and what letters I still have left to read you can go to 2017 Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge to look at the list. I update that post every month so you can check there each month for my progress.

pages-read

So I think I might have been a little over ambitious for this challenge. There was 8 levels ranging from 12,000 to 84,001+ pages. I decided to go with the second level of 24,000. That would have been 2,000 pages per month which I figured was doable but somehow I’ve managed to get behind by almost 2,000 pages. I have only read 10,447 pages so far this year. If I want to reach my goal of 24,000 pages read in 2017 I need to read 2,258 pages each month for the rest of the year. I am going to try to reach this goal but I’m a little skeptical about being able to reach it.

Image result for beat the blacklist

I am pretty much failing this challenge. Well maybe not failing but I’m not doing as good as I was hoping. My goal for this was to read 48 books and so far I have only read 13/48 so yeah not that great. I’m going to keep working on reading books that I have had on my TBR for a while but I highly doubt I will get 48 books read.

The last challenge I am doing this year is the ReReadIt Challenge. You’re supposed to reread 1 book each month. When I started this challenge I was doing so good but the past couple of months I have managed to get behind. So far this year I have reread 4/12 books. I know I want get 12 books reread but I am hoping to get back on track with this challenge.


That’s all the challenges I am doing this year and how I am doing with each one. As you can see I am pretty much half and half with how good/bad I am doing. How are you doing with your challenges for the year? Are we participating in any of the same challenges? I would love to hear from you in the comments below.

 

12 thoughts on “Mid Year Challenge Update

  1. My challenges beside the Goodreads challenge aren’t going that good. I’m also doing the beat the blacklist, and I think I have only read 10 or 11 books, and my TBR was around 90 books last december. So not that great 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d say you’re doing pretty well!
    I’m doing the Goodreads challenge as well (who isn’t) and upped my goal recently. I wanted to read 50 this year, and ended up already reading 52, haha. So I upped it to 80. Pretty sure I’ll have to adapt it once again, but we’ll see when I get there.

    I hadn’t heard of the “Pages Read”-challenge, but it looks interesting! I was actually keeping track of the number of pages read already since I was planning on using that as my stepping stone for 2018. Trying to read more pages than the year before – which will probably a huge challenge since I’ve been reading like a crazy person lately.
    As for the Beat the Backlist Challenge; I’m totally going to check that out! I’ve been on a huge marathon to empty my TBR-shelves in my bookcase (while I keep adding to them, of course…) so I’m sure that’ll be an extra motivation, haha.

    Apart from that I’m also doing the Popsugar Reading Challenge. It’s a really fun challenge to do! Especially since all the different prompts to tick off make you read things you normally shouldn’t. I’ve been pleasantly surprised by some books that I’d normally never read.

    Okay, enough rambling.

    Good luck with your challenges! And enjoy reading. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly who isn’t doing the Goodreads challenge. You are doing so good on your challenge, you have already passed you initial goal that’s awesome.

      I just happened to come by the “Pages Read” challenge at the end of the year last year when I was trying to figure out what challenges I wanted to do. I had never really paid much attention to how many pages I read so I thought this would be a good challenge to do. Depending on how I do with it this year I might up my goal for next year but I think I will probably be better off lowering it.

      The Beat the Backlist challenge has been the most challenging for me. I really wanted to cut my TBR pile in half but that is no where near to happening. I just can’t seem to find a groove of reading newer books and books that have been on my shelf for a while.

      I kind of glanced at the Popsugar Reading Challenge but I didn’t really even think anything of it. Maybe I should look into participating in it next year.

      Thank you so much for commenting and following. Good luck with all of your challenges!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

