Reviews

eARC Review: Cursed by Freya Black

img_2081

Title: Cursed

Author: Freya Black

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Release Date: June 14th 2017

Dates Read: 7/8/2017 – 7/16/2017

Source: eARC sent by the author

My Rating:

Goodreads SynopsisBorn of the rare and powerful Crescent bloodline, Fiona Mandrake is no ordinary witch. Because of her ability to divine the future, Fiona has visions of dark Fey who started a war between the realms that killed her parents. Fiona’s visions foretell the deaths of her coven and the destruction of the human world. But the war is not over.

Through clues her mother left behind, Fiona discovers that the Council responsible for magic is corrupt and working with the dark Fey. She seeks the help of her coven and Sloane Blackwell, a Telepath who can see her visions and change her emotions with a single touch. They share a telepathic bond, one that brings them closer.

Sloane’s unique abilities and his link to the Fey aid Fiona in her quest to end the war between the realms. But magic comes with a price. To save her town from destruction, Fiona and Sloane have to defy the Council, using magic that breaks an ancient law punishable by death. With the Council after them and dark Fey on the loose, Fiona and Sloane have to work together to extinguish the dark Fey before it’s too late.

Cursed is the first book in The Price of Magic urban fantasy series.

My ThoughtsCursed is the first book in the Price of Magic series and I am so ready for the next book to be out.

This book was truly amazing and it had everything I look for in a book. The world building was on point, the characters were unique and well thought out, and there was a touch of romance. I love when books are classified as Fantasy (or any other genre) and the author still throws in some romance.

It took me a while to start reading this book because I received it right before I was going on vacation but as soon as I picked it up I couldn’t put it down. I was sucked into the story from beginning to end.

I loved all the characters but I became particularly fond of Sloane. I was talking to a blogger friend about this book (you know who you are) and some of the stuff she was telling me was making me really anxious. All throughout the book I was constantly thinking OMG what’s going to happen, are they good or bad, please don’t let him be bad that will break my heart. You see where I’m going with this.

This book had so many twists and turns that I never saw coming and to me it ended perfectly. It’s like it left off on a cliffhanger of sorts. Not so much so that you are left with questions about this book but that will lead you into the next book. I really hope that makes sense.

If you are looking for a fast paced Fantasy read I highly recommend you read this book.


Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on it? Did you love it as much as  did?

 

One thought on “eARC Review: Cursed by Freya Black

Leave a Reply

