Reviews

Review: See Me by Nicholas Sparks

img_2170

Title: See Me

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Genre: Romance

Published: October 13th 2015

Date Read: 8/4/2017 – 8/8/2017

Source: Purchased from Amazon

My Rating:

Goodreads SynopsisSee me just as I see you . . .

Colin Hancock is giving his second chance his best shot. With a history of violence and bad decisions behind him and the threat of prison dogging his every step, he’s determined to walk a straight line. To Colin, that means applying himself single-mindedly toward his teaching degree and avoiding everything that proved destructive in his earlier life. Reminding himself daily of his hard-earned lessons, the last thing he is looking for is a serious relationship.

Maria Sanchez, the hardworking daughter of Mexican immigrants, is the picture of conventional success. With a degree from Duke Law School and a job at a prestigious firm in Wilmington, she is a dark-haired beauty with a seemingly flawless professional track record. And yet Maria has a traumatic history of her own, one that compelled her to return to her hometown and left her questioning so much of what she once believed.

A chance encounter on a rain-swept road will alter the course of both Colin and Maria’s lives, challenging deeply held assumptions about each other and ultimately, themselves. As love unexpectedly takes hold between them, they dare to envision what a future together could possibly look like . . . until menacing reminders of events in Maria’s past begin to surface.

As a series of threatening incidents wreaks chaos in Maria’s life, Maria and Colin will be tested in increasingly terrifying ways. Will demons from their past destroy the tenuous relationship they’ve begun to build, or will their love protect them, even in the darkest hour?

Rich in emotion and fueled with suspense, SEE ME reminds us that love is sometimes forged in the crises that threaten to shatter us . . . and that those who see us for who we truly are may not always be the ones easiest to recognize.

My Thoughts

I have been a fan of Nicolas Sparks for as long as I can remember and as I am sure all of you know by now he is my favorite author so it would really surprise me if I didn’t like one of his novels.

Nicholas Sparks has done it again. When I started reading this book I was immediately thrown off because the tone is completely different to other books I have read by him. So initially I was really worried I wasn’t going to like it because it was different but boy was I wrong.

It did have a little bit of a slow uneventful start but it picked up about halfway through.

Colin’s personality was weird and hard to get used to at first but the more I read the more he grew on me and the more I understood him. He has some what of a past so I can completely understand why he is the way he is. Even though I had a hard time with it to start with it’s actually one of the qualities that made me love his character even more.

Maria… I don’t really have a whole lot to say about her. She came off more like a teenager than a 28ish year old adult. Sorry I can’t remember her exact age. Anyways I just didn’t really connect with her at all.

It’s not hard to figure out where the story is going but I will say there were a couple of twists I never saw coming.

Even though the characters could have used some work the plot is what drew me in and kept me going.

I know there has been a lot of people who don’t like this book but I am not one of them. If you have been on the fence about whether or not you should read this book I think you should, just don’t expect his typical story.


Have you read this book already? What are your thoughts on in? Have you been thinking about reading it? Did my review convince you to finally pick it up.

6 thoughts on “Review: See Me by Nicholas Sparks

    1. Oh gosh this is very difficult for me to choose because I really think you can’t go wrong with which ever one you choose but some of my favorites are Safe Haven, The Last Song, The Notebook is a really popular one I better stop because before long I will have all the ones I read named off lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. But I stimulate to record at least one. Yeah I record it a long metre ago but honestly I can’t commemorate what I opinion about it so I want to record it again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

