Reviews

It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton

It Had to Be You

Title: It Had To Be You

Author: Keris Stainton

Format: ebook

Source: NetGalley

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis

Twenty-five-year-old Bea is a hopeless romantic – with a hopeless love life. She’s been single ever since her awful ex broke her heart, and the only thing she gets up to in bed is watching rom coms on her laptop.

When Bea meets Dan, who is basically the man of her dreams, she knows she can’t let him get away. They might not have fireworks, but not everyone can be fighting and (loudly) making up every night, like Bea’s housemates.

But Bea can’t shift the feeling that something just isn’t right. As time goes on, Dan seems less like Mr Right, and more like Mr Couldn’t-Be-More-Wrong… Will Bea be brave enough to change her dreams – and dare to ask for more?

A laugh-out-loud tale for anyone who’s ever dreamt of a fairy-tale romance and found a real-life happy ending, for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Cate Woods, and Mhairi McFarlane.

My Thoughts

I want to thank NetGalley, Bookouture, and Keris Stainton for providing me with a copy to read in exchange for my honest review.

I read this back in June so I am going to try and remember everything I thought about it but most likely this is going to be short and to the point.

Ok so Bea has had this life long dream of the perfect guy all the way down to where she is going to meet him and how it happens. She ends up moving to this place so she can one day meet this perfect guy. Yep that’s right she basically lets this dream run her life. My first issue with this book is this. I mean who makes important life decisions based on a dream? Bea also comes off more as a teenager than an adult.

So I mentioned the dreams she has. She has them pretty frequently and at the beginning of every chapter (I think it was every chapter but don’t quote me on that because its been so long I can’t really remember) we get a snippet of the dreams and each time a little something gets added to the dream. The problem with this is that it became very repetitive and annoying to have to read about the whole dream.

Other than those issues I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was funny and cute and yes predictable but that was ok with me because I was really happy with what happened.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “It Had To Be You by Keris Stainton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s