Reviews

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

Title: City of Bones

Author: Cassandra Clare

Series: The Mortal Instruments

Pages: 485 pages

Format: Paperback

Source: Own

My Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

My Thoughts

First off I want to mention that this was a buddy read with Azu from Book Orbit. Y’all know I love buddy reading so I have had my fair share of buddy reading books but this was Azus first buddy read and I had so much fun reading and discussing this book with her. If you would like to read her review of this book click on the link above.

I chose this book as my #BookBumClub book for the month. The theme for June was MOVIE NIGHT!! For this theme, read a book that was adapted into a movie! I was initially going to go with a different book but then I realized this was a movie so it would work for this prompt.

Normally my reviews are spoiler free but I just don’t think I can write a spoiler free review that makes sense so be warned. If you haven’t read this series yet and you plan to then leave now.

Seriously SPOILERS ahead!!!!

I was a little skeptical going into this book because a lot of people didn’t like this series and actually gave up on it about halfway through. I was worried because I absolutely loved The Infernal Devices trilogy and I didn’t want this series to tarnish that for me but overall I really enjoyed this.

This book had a slow start for me and that had a lot to do with the long chapters plus there wasn’t a whole lot that happened in the beginning. Yeah Clarys mom goes missing and she fights some demons but for the most part it was mostly an info dump. You learn as Clary learns. One thing that bugged me is how everyone talked to Clary like she was stupid and like she should know what they were talking about even though they know she didn’t grow up with the knowledge. Another thing that bugged me is how much they all would be like it’s to dangerous he doesn’t need to be part of this but yet they let Simon tag along anyways.

Overall I enjoyed all of the characters although I found all of them to be annoying at certain points except for Isabelle. I think at this point she is the most likable character out of all of them. Alec was way over dramatic. Some of his reactions to certain situations didn’t work for me. It just didn’t fit the situation in my opinion. I look forward to getting more Magnus in the following books. Jaces sarcasm was on point and I found myself laughing out loud several times while reading this book. As for Clary I’m neutral when it comes to her right now. She didn’t really wow me but I don’t hate her.

That plot twist ugh so help me if I continue on with this series (which I plan to do) just to find out that Clary and Jace are actually brother and sister I will hate this series. I know that is harsh to say but I hate when authors play with my emotions like this. I mean why make me fall in love with the characters and ship them together to throw a plot twist like that at me no just no.

Toward the end of the book was when things started happening and where I was fully sucked into the story. While a lot of things annoyed me Cassandra Clare still managed to draw me into the story and make me want to continue with the series. I know this review is all over the place and I am sorry about that.

Misty

 

 

8 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Leave a comment