Reviews

Spoiler Alert By Olivia Dade #LostinRomanceBookClub

Spoiler Alert

Title: Spoiler Alert

Author: Olivia Dade

Publication Date: October 2020

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Synopsis

Olivia Dade bursts onto the scene in this delightfully fun romantic comedy set in the world of fanfiction, in which a devoted fan goes on an unexpected date with her celebrity crush, who’s secretly posting fanfiction of his own. 

Marcus Caster-Rupp has a secret. While the world knows him as Aeneas, the star of the biggest show on TV, Gods of the Gates, he’s known to fanfiction readers as Book!AeneasWouldNever, an anonymous and popular poster.  Marcus is able to get out his own frustrations with his character through his stories, especially the ones that feature the internet’s favorite couple to ship, Aeneas and Lavinia. But if anyone ever found out about his online persona, he’d be fired. Immediately.

April Whittier has secrets of her own. A hardcore Lavinia fan, she’s hidden her fanfiction and cosplay hobby from her “real life” for years—but not anymore. When she decides to post her latest Lavinia creation on Twitter, her photo goes viral. Trolls and supporters alike are commenting on her plus-size take, but when Marcus, one half of her OTP, sees her pic and asks her out on a date to spite her critics, she realizes life is really stranger than fanfiction.

Even though their first date is a disaster, Marcus quickly realizes that he wants much more from April than a one-time publicity stunt. And when he discovers she’s actually Unapologetic Lavinia Stan, his closest fandom friend, he has one more huge secret to hide from her.

With love and Marcus’s career on the line, can the two of them stop hiding once and for all, or will a match made in fandom end up prematurely cancelled?

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This was April’s pick for the Lost in Romance Book Club. This is a book club I cohost with Michelle where we read romance. If you would like to join us, click the link above. 

This book had been on my TBR for a while before it was picked for our book club. I’m so glad I’ve finally read it because overall I really enjoyed this book. There were some things that I didn’t care for but in the end the romance sealed the deal for me. 

I liked how this included fanfiction but what I didn’t like was having the fanfiction included in the story. At the end of pretty much every chapter there was a little snippet of fanfiction and honestly it took me out of the story every single time. I didn’t care about that side of the story. Don’t get me wrong I liked that they talked about it I just didn’t want to read about it. I also didn’t really care for the movie script inclusions either. 

The romance, now that’s where I was completely drawn in. I loved Marcus and April together. Their romance was just so cute. I loved the plus size rep and the body positivity. April who has struggled with body confidence because of ignorant people in her life is at a point where she is completely confident in her body, and she loves herself she doesn’t need a man for her to love herself which I loved. 

All of the conflicts in this book could have been completely avoided had the characters just talked to each other. I hate when this is done in books but at the same time, I know there has to be some sort of conflict so I can look past it, I guess.

Overall, I enjoyed the romance in this book so much that I can look past all of the issues I had with it. 

mistysbookspace

 

3 thoughts on “Spoiler Alert By Olivia Dade #LostinRomanceBookClub

Leave a comment