Reviews

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany,& Jack Thorne

img_3153

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, & Jack Thorne

Genre: Fantasy

Published: July 31st 2016

Date Read: 08/15/2016 – 08/21/2016

Source: Bought from Amazon

My Rating:

Goodreads Synopsis

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Thoughts

 I want to start by saying there might be some slight spoilers ahead so if you haven’t read this book yet I would suggest you not to continue on until you have done so. I honestly didn’t think I was going to be able to get this book when it first came out but my husband surprised me with it and I am so glad he did. Ok enough rambling lets get to my thoughts on this book now. Before I got this book I had read so many mixed reviews and I was honestly a little hesitant to start it. I love the Harry Potter world and I didn’t want to read something that was going to mess that up for me. When I found out my husband got it for me I squealed (literally) and then I decided I was going to go into it without any expectations at all (and that’s how I would suggest you go into it as well). If you go in without any expectations the less likely you are to be let down. When I first started it, it was a little difficult reading it in play form because I have never actually read anything in play form before so this was a new one for me. After I got into it a little I quickly got used to it and it became easier.

Because of the way this is written it’s hard to have a connection to any of the characters. I feel like the more you read into it the more you connect with them but it is really hard. Some of the original characters didn’t seem completely authentic to me. The Harry I knew would never have said what he said to Albus no matter how bad things were. I could be wrong but I don’t remember Ron being so goofy in the original books. It has been several years since I have re-read the Harry Potter books so if I am wrong I am sorry. My favorite character was Scorpius and I am surprised I am saying that because I never thought I would end up liking a Malfoy. Scorpius just seems real and honestly now that I am thinking about it he kind of reminds me of a young Harry Potter. The relationship between Harry and his son Albus seemed a little overly dramatic I guess you would say. I think maybe the format in which this is written is to blame again because you just don’t get enough information to fully grasp the extent of the way Albus feels. This whole book pretty much follows Albus and Scorpius (another surprise a potter and a Malfoy best friends). I love the friendship between them. I wish we would have gotten more of the rest of the Potter Weasley kids. I love how there are flashbacks all through out this book.

Is this book perfect? No of course not. It has its flaws but even with all the problems it has I still really enjoyed reading this book and being able to return to the Harry Potter world. I gave this book 5 stars because I feel like even with all of its flaws it was still perfect in my eyes. If you have read this book I would love to know yours thoughts on it.

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany,& Jack Thorne

Leave a comment