Reviews

Review: Shacking Up by Helena Hunting

img_1715

Title: Shacking Up

Author: Helena Hunting

Genre: Romance

Release Date: May 30th 2017

My Rating:

Goodreads Synopsis

Ruby Scott is months behind on rent and can’t seem to land a steady job. She has one chance to turn things around with a big audition. But instead of getting her big break, she gets sick as a dog and completely bombs it in the most humiliating fashion. All thanks to a mysterious, gorgeous guy who kissed—and then coughed on—her at a party the night before.

Luckily, her best friend might have found the perfect opportunity; a job staying at the lavish penthouse apartment of hotel magnate Bancroft Mills while he’s out of town, taking care of his exotic pets. But when the newly-evicted Ruby arrives to meet her new employer, it turns out Bane is the same guy who got her sick.

Seeing his role in Ruby’s dilemma, Bane offers her a permanent job as his live-in pet sitter until she can get back on her feet. Filled with hilariously awkward encounters and enough sexual tension to heat a New York City block, Shacking Up, from NYT and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting, is sure to keep you laughing and swooning all night long.

My Thoughts

** Thanks to St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley for providing me with an eARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.**

This was my first Helena Hunting book and while it was good I had some issues with it.

I guess my main issue is the fact that the two main characters are apart for a majority of the book and then when they are finally back together things are awkward between them and then some drama ensues. I know they talk constantly over the phone or through video chat but I wish they would have been together more in person.

I didn’t really care for the drama at the end. I feel like that that aspect could have been done away with completely or at least be resolved a little differently. There was just something, and I can’t really put my finger on what it was exactly, that I just didn’t like about it.

I know at this point you’re probably like is there anything about this book that you liked? Yes there was actually.

I loved how Ruby was so determined to prove she could make it on her own without her fathers money. No matter how hard it got she kept on going.

Bane and his pets. OMG!! So adorable. I love it when a man is a pet lover even if his choice of pets is questionable in my opinion LOL.

Bane and Ruby were absolutely perfect for each other and the romance was so cute. I laughed so much reading the banter between them. Sometimes I was laughing out loud it was so funny.

So yeah as you can tell the good far out weighs the not so good. I know the first half of this review probably doesn’t make a whole lot of since and I’m sorry about that. There’s just something that is keeping me from giving this 5 stars. If I can figure out what that something is I will update this post.


Have you read Shacking Up? Did you enjoy it. Did you have the same thoughts on this book as I did? Have you read any other books by Helena Hunting? I would love to talk to you more in the comments.

7 thoughts on “Review: Shacking Up by Helena Hunting

  1. I rarely read romance, but this seems like an awesome book. I’m glad that you enjoyed reading it!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Romance is probably my favorite genre to read. Thank you!!

      Honestly even though I have been blogging for almost a year I still feel like a newbie. I am constantly learning as I go. Always be honest and be yourself. Also interact with your followers whether that be with likes, comments, or follows interaction is key.

      I went and looked at your blog and I think you are doing great. Like I said I’m still learning new things everyday. Blog because you love it!!

      Hope I helped!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

