This Week In Books

My Week In Books 1/24 – 1/30

Hello bookworms!!

This week was another pretty uneventful week for me until Sunday. I stayed up until 1am reading my book and then I woke up at 3:30am because I was having really bad stomach pains. This isn’t the first time this has happened. It has happened several times over the past year or 2. Usually it goes away after a few minutes but this time it wasn’t going away. I was in so much pain I was crying, and I ended up waking my husband up. My primary doctor has been telling me that my acid reflux is what was most likely causing this pain. I ended up going to the ER at 5:30 because I couldn’t take the pain anymore and it wasn’t letting up. I told the doctor about my acid reflux and all of that and of course he immediately treats me for that without really doing anything. I started to get a little bit of relief but when I rolled over to get a chest x-ray done it came back with a vengeance. The doctor finally came back in to see me and was like how are you doing? All better? And I am sitting here literally crying like no I’m not better I’m in excruciating pain. At that point he was like oh ok maybe we should get a scan of your gallbladder. They did an ultrasound and by the time the doctor came back in to tell me what was going on it was a new doctor. Anyways to make a long story longer he told me I have gallstones and that I have a lot of gallbladder issues, so it needs to be taken out. Luckily it wasn’t inflamed or anything, so I didn’t need emergency surgery. I am going to be calling a surgeon the ER doctor referred me to today to try and get things going because I don’t want any more of this pain. I’m also kind of annoyed at my doctor. Why didn’t she check my gallbladder? Why did she just assume it was acid reflux? The pain for now is gone. It finally went away on it own which it usually does it just took way longer this time. As for my reading I finished 3 books this week and made progress in another one so let’s look at that shall we.

~ Recently Finished ~

I was finally able to read How to Love Your Neighbor by Sophie Sullivan this week and I ended up really enjoying it. I did have some issues with it but overall, it was really good. I then read What Wendy Wants by Nikki Sex. This wasn’t on my TBR for this month, but I wanted a short quick read, so I picked this one. Honestly, I’m not really sure how I feel about this one just yet. There were things I liked but there were things that really bugged me. Lastly, I read Second Chance by Natasha Preston and again not really sure yet how I feel. I just finished it yesterday and I think overall I did like it but I also had some issues with it.

~ Currently Reading ~

Again, but Bette

Yep, I am still reading this one. I am buddy reading this one with Erin and we are reading 10 chapters a week. I was hoping to finish it before the end of the month, but it has way more chapters than I thought it did. It’s a pretty quick read and I am enjoying it way more than I was expecting to.

~ Reading Next ~

I don’t really know what I am going to be reading next. I planned to figure out my February TBR yesterday but that obviously didn’t happen so as of right now I am free to pick up whatever I want however, I most likely won’t pick up anything new until I have planned my February TBR.


What have you recently finished reading? What are you currently reading? What do you plan to read next? Have you read any of the books I mentioned?

mistysbookspace

21 thoughts on “My Week In Books 1/24 – 1/30

    1. Yeah I’m really annoyed that it wasn’t looked into sooner. The pain is gone for now but I know it will happen again if I don’t get it taken care of. It randomly happens and idk what I do to irritate it. I have an appointment Thursday to see the surgeon so hopefully it want be too long of a wait.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t like taking pain meds because I hate the way they make me feel but it was either that or go back to the ER where they would have just given me something for the pain. I opted for staying home lol.

        Like

      2. I’m right there with you. The pain meds they gave me got me high every time I took them, making it easier to dissociate (something I’ve been struggling with lately). I can see how dangerous they are in the wrong hands, but I still took them since they took my mind off the pain.

        Right, anywhere is better than a hospital right now!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it did!! Had I not had to go to the ER it probably would have taken longer. Thank you!! I’m not sure how much reading I will do. Usually when I have any major changes to my normal schedule it throws off my reading but I hope I can manage to stick to it this time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I understand that pain, Misty. I had 3 serious gall bladder attacks before I had surgery. I realized quickly that I couldn’t eat pork (too fatty) and a lot of homemade soup also has a high fat content. If I ate beef, I made sure to cut off the fat. It is a surgery that I do not regret having. I hope you get an appointment soon, it is not a major one at all. I was outpatient. Feel better soon. I also understand your frustration at not diagnosing it quicker and making assumptions. I am so glad my doctor picked up on it after the first attack.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been keeping up with when it happens since I seen my doctor the last time in October and including the one from yesterday it’s happened four times since then. But this has been going on for over a year now. I’m pretty sure I have an “attack” at least once a month. I already take the fat off my meat because I hate it lol. I have an appointment to see the surgeon on Thursday and then we will go from there I guess. Thank you as of right now I’m feeling good. It’s like nothing is wrong. As soon as the pain goes away I’m good but yesterday it was refusing to go away and I couldn’t take it. The pain is always bad when it happens but I would say that’s the worst it’s ever been. I understand that there can be multiple reasons for symptoms but I feel like instead of assuming it was one thing everything should have been checked especially considering how much pain I’m in when I have these attacks.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry to hear about what you went through! Hopefully, everything else goes much smoother now with booking your surgery and the actual surgery. Wishing you a speedy recovery (for whenever you manage to get the surgery) and I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment