Reviews

Tunnel of Bones & Bridge of Souls by Victoria Schwab

Tunnel of BonesTitle: Tunnel of Bones

Author: Victoria Schwab

Series: Cassidy Blake #2

Publication Date: September 3, 2019

Genre: Middle Grade Paranormal

Add to Goodreads

 

Synopsis

Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

My Review

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I’m glad I finally continued on with this trilogy thanks to Destiny for buddy reading it with me. There’s no telling when I would have finally got back into this series if it wasn’t for her. 

Like I said when I read the first book this is a middle grade book and I think for a middle grade book it is done well and I can see the age group that it is marketed to loving it but to me it was a little on the simplistic side. I still enjoyed following Cassidy and Jacob (her ghost best friend) but it wasn’t mind blowing. It was easy and predictable but again just like the first book I loved the friendship between Cassidy and Jacob. I think that is my favorite thing in these books. 

At the end of book 1 I was worried about where things were going to go with Jacob and we definitely get more on that in this book I’m just glad it didn’t go in the direction I thought it was going to go at least not completely.

Overall another enjoyable read and I’m looking forward to reading the final book. I can’t wait to see where these characters go next.

Bridge of soulsTitle: Bridge of Souls

Author: Victoria Schwab

Series: Cassidy Blake #3

Publication Date: March 2, 2021

Genre: Middle Grade Paranormal

Add to Goodreads

 

Synopsis

Where there are ghosts, Cassidy Blake follows … unless it’s the other way around?

Cass thinks she might have this ghost-hunting thing down. After all, she and her ghost best friend, Jacob, have survived two haunted cities while travelling for her parents’ TV show.

But nothing can prepare Cass for New Orleans, which wears all of its hauntings on its sleeve. In a city of ghost tours and tombs, raucous music and all kinds of magic, Cass could get lost in all the colourful, grisly local legends. And the city’s biggest surprise is a foe Cass never expected to face: a servant of Death itself.

Cass takes on her most dangerous challenge yet…

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Once again I have to thank Destiny for buddy reading these books with me. I had so much fun reading and discussing them with her. 

My feeling for this one are pretty much the same as the other 2 books in this series however this one is my favorite of the 3. I think it’s my favorite because while it is still pretty simplistic it was also slightly darker which I loved. This one was pulling at my heart strings in the end. I was afraid something was going to happen that I really didn’t want to happen even though it probably should happen.

Middle grade isn’t my age range of choice but despite these books being on the simplistic side I still really enjoyed reading them. 

mistysbookspace

7 thoughts on “Tunnel of Bones & Bridge of Souls by Victoria Schwab

  1. I’ve been reading this series on audiobook and I agree with your thoughts on tunnel of bones. The plot is predictable and not that scary. Maybe it will be scary for the middle graders hehe.. but I also enjoy the friendship between Cath and Jacob😊

    I’m yet to read the third book though

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad we read these together!! I’m glad to have finally caught up on the series. I do have to say that I enjoyed these while listening to them but that the longer it has been since we read them, the more I feel like I may need to lower my ratings just a little (like 4 stars each instead of 4.5 and 5).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad we read them together and that we were both able to mark a series off of our ongoing series lists. They are cute and fun to read/listen to but they don’t really stick with you. Like they aren’t mind blowing or anything.

      Like

Leave a comment