Reviews

The Gemini Connection By Teri Polen

The Gemini Connection

Title: The Gemini Connection

Author: Teri Polen

Pages: 228 pages

Format: Ebook

Source: R&R Book Tours

My Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis

Teen twin brothers Evan and Simon Resnik are fiercely loyal to each other and share an unusual bond—they experience each other’s emotions as their own and can sense where the other is.

On their dying planet of Tage, scientists work tirelessly on its survival. Like the twins’ parents, Simon is a science prodigy, recruited at a young age to work with the brilliant creator of Scientific Innovations. To the bitter disappointment of their parents, Evan shows no aptitude or interest in science. As a Mindbender, he travels into the minds of scientists to locate buried memories, connect ideas and concepts, and battle recurring nightmares.

When Simon mysteriously disappears, Evan is plunged into a world of loss and unbearable guilt. For the first time, he can’t ‘feel’ Simon—it’s like he no longer exists. Evan blames himself. No one knows that he ignored his brother’s pleas for help on the night he went missing.

A year later, Simon is still gone. Evan lost his twin, but Tage might have lost its last hope of survival when it’s discovered that Simon’s unfinished project could be its salvation. Evan is determined to find him—somewhere—and bring Simon home. Their unusual connection might be more extraordinary than they know, and the key to locating Simon.

My Thoughts

I want to thank the author for providing me with a copy of this book via R&R Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.

I didn’t have any expectations going into this to be honest. I read the synopsis and thought it sounded like it could be an ok read so I thought I would give it a try. I’m glad I did because this turned out to be a pleasant surprise and I enjoyed it way more than I thought I was going to.

This is told from both Evan’s and Simon’s POV and alternates between past and present. Simon and Evan are twin brothers who share a connection that is more than just the typical twin connection and I am not going to try to explain it. It’s not complicated to understand when you’re reading it I am just horrible at science and I don’t want to screw up the explanation of it.

The connection between these two is a huge part of the story. I had one issue with it though and that was when Simon disappears Evan was like oh he’s just having a nightmare. That would be fine if the fact that their connection wasn’t beat into your head and on several occasions you see just how strong their connection is. So with that to me Evan should have been able to know that it wasn’t just a measly nightmare.

Now onto the science of it all. I am stupid when it comes to science. Always have been and always will be so what I am assuming is probably just some basic science went over my head. That being said though the author doesn’t bog down the story with all the science and it definitely did not take me out of the story.

I loved the LGBTQ rep in this book and how it was done. It was like it was normal in this universe and there were no haters or anything like that. I feel like I’m not really explaining myself very well here.

The characters felt so real and their emotions ugh. Evan puts on this tough exterior but he has so many insecurities, rightfully so, and I was going through all of his emotions with him. I really felt for his character. Syd is my new favorite character. I just loved her so much for so many different reasons. I hated Evan and Simons parents. They were so awful.

It was really easy to guess what happened to Simon but you don’t know the why or how so it still made for a great story. Also I wish there was more of the story. I love the way it ended but I feel like it just abruptly ended and there was so much more that needed to be told.

I highly recommend this book if you haven’t already read it.

mistysbookspace

 

9 thoughts on “The Gemini Connection By Teri Polen

Leave a comment